Intro

Hi, my name is Tim Shoreman,  I am a 15 year old cross country mountain biker from Aberdeenshire, Scotland.  I’m lucky to live in the countryside with easy access to rides at Pitfichie and Bennachie. I’m a member of Deeside Thistle Cycling Club.

Last year I competed in the Dales Cycles Scottish Cross Country Series (SXC) which consisted of 5 rounds all around Scotland. I also competed in 3 British races (2 series races and the National Champs).  The season went very well – I managed to win the SXC Series (Juvenile) and I came 3rd at the British Champs at Hopton Woods in Shropshire.P1000405

Last year I raced on a Giant XTC 29er 1. This was my first carbon bike and also my first 29er.  Being 6ft 2 the big bike suited me and I really enjoyed riding it.  Unfortunately I continued to grow last year and I’ve outgrown the large size frame of the Giant but, with the help of Dales Cycles, I’ve just got a new XL Scott Scale 900RC …. thanks very much Dales.  I rode it for the first time yesterday on a 2 hour ride around Bennachie.  It’s awesome and I’m extremely excited about racing on it.  The first race of the season is at the end of March at Cathkin Braes.

My winter training has been going OK, but mainly on the turbo due to the weather.  Hopefully the weather will improve and I can get some more time out and about on the road and on the hills. This year I plan to ride the full Dales Cycles SXC Series again, as well as the full British National Series and the British Champs.  I have, however,  gone up an age group into the Youth Category (U16), so I’m going to have my work cut out to achieve some good results.

I am aiming to write regular blogs about my races so follow me here…..

Leave a comment